Wednesday, September 18, 2013

(Drum Roll) The Envelope Please by Diana Flegal

In the world of Christian publishing there are several awards given out for excellence at various stages in the writing process for both fiction and nonfiction work.

American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) offers two awards to the writers of Christian Fiction.

The Christy Awards are awarded each year to recognize novels of excellence written from a Christian worldview. Awards are given in several genres, including contemporary (stand-alone novels and series), historical, romance (contemporary and historical), suspense, and visionary. In addition, an award is given for first novel and young adult. (wiki dictionary)

The Christy Awards are named in honor of Catherine Marshall and her novel Christy. They were designed to nurture and encourage creativity and quality in the writing and publishing of fiction written from a Christian worldview and bring a new awareness of the breadth and depth of fiction choices available. (wiki dictionary)

Every year publishers are invited to submit novels in one of several genre categories and/or the first novel category. Each category of novels is then read and evaluated against a ten-point criteria by a panel of seven judges composed of librarians, reviewers, academicians, literary critics, and other qualified readers, none of whom have a direct affiliation with a publishing company.

The Carol Awards are ACFW's recognition for the best Christian fiction published by traditional publishing houses in the previous calendar year.

ELIGIBILITY: Entry must be a work of original fictional narrative prose that is offered for sale to the general public through print or digital media. The author must not participate financially in the production or distribution of the work. The book must be written from a Christian worldview in any Christian fiction genre through a publisher on ACFW's Recognized Publishers list* and for which the author did not participate financially in the production or distribution (did not enter into a subsidy contract of any kind) and was/is paid royalties.

Since 1978 the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association has recognized quality and encouraged excellence by presenting the ECPA Christian Book Award® program (formerly known as Gold Medallion) each year.  After a rigorous judging process, a minimum of five finalists are selected in each of seven categories: Bibles, Fiction, Children, Inspiration, Bible Reference, Non-Fiction and New Author

The ECPA Gold | Platinum | Diamond Sales Awards recognize outstanding sales achievement in the publication of quality Christian literature.

NEW: ECPA debuted the Top Shelf Book Cover Awards to celebrate the year's best book designs in Christian publishing.  (entries closed August 2013) Covers are judged by top designers in the industry for their merits in appropriateness for the market, level of conceptual thinking, and quality of execution. Judges will choose approximately 10 winners -- but will not be bound by 10 -- as they will have the freedom to truly choose the BEST designs of the year.

Hartline congratulates Jane Kirkpatrick who was awarded the Carol Award for her title, Where Lilacs Still Bloom published by WaterBrook Press. Jane is a multi-award winning author of 17 titles in both fiction and nonfiction and is the client of Joyce Hart.  


Sandra Ardoin said...

Congratulations to Jane!!

Davalyn Spencer said...

Congratulations, Jane and Joyce. An honorable award for such fine work.

Andrea Cox said...

Jane and Joyce, congratulations on receiving the Carol Award!

Cecelia Dowdy said...

Many congrats to Jane!